Lewis County, Missouri Official Website

Lewis County Courthouse
100 E. Lafayette
Monticello, MO 63457

Home Page
Lewis County, Missouri was first organized as a separate county on January 2, 1833. The county was named after Meriwether Lewis of the Lewis and Clark Expedition, later governor of the Missouri Territory. The third and present courthouse dates from 1875. Lewis County is one of the few remaining courthouses in Missouri dating from the 1870's.
Road and Bridge Dept. Employment Opportunities
For employment opportunities with the Lewis County Road & Bridge Department, please stop by the Road & Bridge office at 100 E Lafayette, Monticello or call 573-767-5212 Monday - Friday 8:00am- 3:30 pm
Annual Cemetery Rock
The Road and Bridge Department will be hauling and delivering cemetery rock ONLY BY REQUEST this year. We are asking cemetery personnel or board members to please contact our office at 573-767-5212 to request rock. The following is a list of cemeteries the Road and Bridge Department hauls rock to: Monticello, Dover, LaBelle, Ewing (north side), Durham, Zion Hill, Williamstown (west), Midway, Gilead, Steffenville (east side), New Providence (Route F), Ten Mile, Deer Ridge, Maywood, Lewistown, Route Y Cemetery, Providence Church (Williamstown), East Midway Cemetery.

We must have requests for cemetery rock by Friday, May 7th, 2021 to accommodate delivery by Memorial Day Weekend.

Veterans Day Program 2019
On Sunday, November 10, 2019, a memorial was held at the Lewis County, Missouri courthouse in Monticello. Click here to see more pictures and a copy of the program.